Style File – 13 Feb 2012 (Villa Vs Hotel in Bali)

We had a great stay in Gili Trawangan
and hopefully we’ll be back again sometime. The trip back from Gili T to Bali went smoothly as planned & the Gili Cat people dropped us off at Carrefour in Denpasar as requested.

The reason being is because we’ll spend the rest of our holiday in a villa in Nusa Dua area. So we need to stock up for this stay.

Staying in a villa in Bali is different with staying in a hotel. I like staying in a hotel more than a villa. This time we have to stay in a villa because we have the whole family (my dad, his girlfriend, my brothers , my sis in laws, my nieces) all under one roof. It’ll be too dear for us if we pay for hotel rooms so villa is a much better choice.

This is our second time staying in a villa between US$230-350 range per night.

What I dislike about villa in general are:
– the location normally is far from anywhere. Thus we have to stock up food & beverages.
– sometimes we have to cook (I cook if I’m not on holiday & the point of holiday is to avoid whatever that I normally do).
– there are always things not working properly. E.g Big bath tub, not enough water to fill in; great looking shower with not enough water pressure, etc..
– We need to tidy up the kitchen ourselves. Some villas have domestic staffs but if it’s after dinner, I feel bad to call the staff to clean after our mess. Again, holiday for me means no kitchen duty.
– Towels not as fluffy, no proper toiletries, etc… the hotels normally provided.
– there are more insects in villas than in hotels. E.g mosquitoes & friends.

My list can go on if I continue. Maybe because the villas that I’ve rented so far are a mediocre range for Bali standard. So I guess you get what you paid for.

This is what I wore otw back from Gili T to Bali. The shoes are only for the photo purpose.

20120213-222915.jpg

Note:
Dress from Uluwatu lace shop in Ubud. I love dresses from this shop. They are quite expensive but worth it. This dress costs me around A$ 180. If you show them Garuda Indonesia boarding pass or ticket, you can get 15% discount.

One thought on “Style File – 13 Feb 2012 (Villa Vs Hotel in Bali)

  1. Hi Shinta, I see you like Uluwatu Lace; I’m glad because I built the company (though not quite like I wrote in the press release). Anyway, I have a new book out called Eleven Demons – Secrets of Deincarnation in Bali, lots about Uluwatu and Bali and everything, see it at http://www.uluwatu.com.

Leave a Reply

