Style File – 12 Feb 2012 (Last Day at Gili Trawangan)

Today is our last full day in Gili Trawangan. The day started beautifully and we were lazying around the pool & beach.

We tried to rent bikes to go around the island from the hotel. They said it costs Rp 75,000 (A$ 8.5) for a bike per day. So expensive! I tried to bargain but they didn’t care and keep saying it’s a fixed price.

We then tried the other bike rental shop about 200 meters from Villa Ombak Hotel and we got two bikes for Rp 60,000 (A$ 6.70) for the whole day. Score!! Somehow I think the further away I go, I can get a cheaper price.

I love bargains. In Indonesia, I bargain for everything from hotel price to thongs. There are only a few cases where I don’t bargain, for example in the big supermarket, department stores and when I feel pity for the sellers.

In Gili Trawangan, price is more or less hard to bargain because they have the same sort of standard around the island. I’m still suspicious whether they give me these prices because I am with my Anglo Saxon husband or it’s just the way it is here. Well, I managed to bargain a mosquito repellent (necessity for the island!!) from Rp 25,000 (A$ 2.80) to Rp 15,000 (A$ 1.70) at the local convenience store (psst… The Husband didn’t come along at that time though..).

Riding a bike around the island took us around 1 hour 45 minutes, excluding stopping time. We stopped at Villa Julius on the other side of our hotel just to enjoy the scenery & got some cool drinks.

Villa Julius seems to be a very nice hotel/villa to stay in. They costs between Rp 900,000 (A$ 100) – Rp 1,200,000 (A$ 134) per night. Modern establishment with nice furniture. The only down point is it’s reasonably far from the main road of Gili Trawangan where the cafes & bars located.

This is the photo of the Villa Julius

20120212-192959.jpg

and the view from where we sat:

20120212-193118.jpg

This is what I wore going around the island with bike & lazying around the whole day:

20120212-193239.jpg

I feel so bloated from the Primolut tablet that I have to take for our pregnancy planning program. Nasty stuff for my body but I guess I have to start somewhere.

Anyway, the only thing new in this blog from the outfit is only the sarong. It’s a hand painted sarong & I got this in Bali. A bit more expensive than usual but I think it’s worth it.

One thought on “Style File – 12 Feb 2012 (Last Day at Gili Trawangan)

Leave a Reply

