At The Doctor in Canberra

Here I am, sitting at my doctor’s waiting room with 26 people ahead of me, thinking how come Canberra health system can’t be better than Sydney given its much smaller population?

When I was living in Sydney, there were so many bulk bill practices around. In Artarmon area where I used to live, there were at least 2 bulk bill doctors just 5 minutes walked from home. If I didn’t have time to go during the day, there was another practice that was opened until midnight everyday in nearby Chatswood area. Usually I only needed to wait about 10 minutes in those practices.

When I moved to Ashfield in the inner west of Sydney, there were so many bulk bill services around as well.

Now in Canberra, as far as I know, there were only two bulk bill services around. And from the end of August 2009, at least the one in Ginnendera charged $30 gap payment. The waiting period doesn’t seem to improved with 26 people ahead of me at 10 am on a Wednesday morning. The receptionist said that the queue is much better now since they’ve imposed this gap payment. She said that the queue used to be up to 70 people during this time of day. Well, it still seems too long for me.

Maybe it’s time to go to homeopractoe instead. Save the queue and more natural.

Leave a Reply

